top of page

Varnaputtu (Multicolored Steamed Rice Cakes)

Varna Puttu with Kadala Curry & leftover Kakka Irachi for Breakfast

An ardent Puttu lover đŸ„°đŸ˜,I like my Puttu with Kadala Curry,Kakka Irachi,Cherupayar/Chemmeen Thoran or Mutta Roast along with some Pappadam đŸ˜‹đŸ˜‹đŸ„°đŸ˜

Puttu goes well with fruits like bananas,mangoes or steamed nendra Pazhams and also with Panam Pani or Pazham jam too.These are my combs with Puttu

Today for the Jorenqers online Puttu Adi party I thought of to make this Varnaputtu with a combo of oats and rice flours...My cylinderical Puttu maker just give way after the first batch.So made these remaining in my Charatta Puttu maker.

Purple Cabbage-lavender

Green Cheera& coriander-green

Beetroot-purple pink

Carrot-orange

Dates purée-coffee brown and Cocoa powder with sugar - dark Brown

was added to get the awesome colors

I cooked the spinach and purĂ©ed it with few coriander leaves,1/2 tsp lime juice and 3 green chillies as I didn’t have enough cheera .Then added it to the oats and rice flours with salt .

I soaked 8 dates in 3 tbsps hot water for it to soften, and then added it to the oats and rice flour mixture .

I grated the carrot and beetroot separately and added to the oats and rice flours with salt and then pulsed in the small jar of the mixie.

I ground few purple cabbage leaves in the mixie and add 1/2 tsp vinegar to it to get the color.Then add it to the oats and rice flours with salt and pulsed in the mixie.

I added 1 tbsp of cocoa powder and 1 tbsp of sugar to the oats and rice flours with salt .Sprinkled some water to get the Puttu powder consistency.

To the Puttu maker added coconut grated first then added flavored Puttu flour then again grated coconut and again flour till I got 6 layers of flavored Puttu. I steamed it till cooked through.Varnaputtu is ready.

For the Dates and Chocolate layers you don’t need any Curry as such as they’re sweet Puttu.



Recent Posts

See All

Kerala Rice Murukku

Kerala Rice Murukku Rice Murukku Recipe 1.coconut scraped-half of a coconut(use only the white portion-no brown peera) Garlic-4(Chinese...

Cherupayar Thoran

Cherupayar Thoran 1.Cherupayar(whole Moong Dal)-1/2 cup Soak this overnight or for 4 hours in enough water.Drain and pressure cook the...

Beef and Kaya

Beef and Kaya 1.Beef-1/4 kg Chilli powder-1/2 tsp Turmeric powder-1/2 tsp Coriander powder-1/2tsp Vinegar-1 tsp Salt to taste Marinate...

ComentĂĄrios

Avaliado com 0 de 5 estrelas.
Ainda sem avaliaçÔes

Adicione uma avaliação
bottom of page